Sucre, Bolivia

Two weeks in Sucre was the perfect introduction to Bolivia. It’s the country’s capital, but despite that, it’s a small colonial city with a quaint town-like feel. This is the most time I’ve ever spent in one place, and it really helped ease me into not being at home for the next few months.

I took two weeks of Spanish lessons at Me Gusta Spanish School and did a homestay with a Bolivian family that was set up through the school. Each day, I woke up, went to school, had lunch at home, and did homework. It’s been over 7 years since I’ve had a daily routine, and it felt SO nice. Mi español no es muy bueno, pero puedo vivir. One of the most useful phrases I’ve learned is “Tienes la contraseña para WiFi?” Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday, different places offered salsa lessons, so obviously knowing me, I went every day that first week; it was exhausting but fun!

The Mancilla family was so patient with me while I learned, and Elisabeth (the mom) cooked some AMAZING Bolivian food – papa rellenas, mondongo, saice, humintas, different types of sopa every day, and tacos! (Not Bolivian but she knew I loved tacos <3) The school offered activities after class Tuesdays through Fridays, but the only one I was really interested in were the cooking classes on Thursdays with Marlene. We made tucumanas the first week and humintas the second. Both were absolutely delicious. I had no idea what Bolivian food was like, but I definitely didn’t expect to like it this much.

I was pretty sad to leave Sucre as I met some awesome people from the school and even more people through them, but hopefully we’ll cross paths again. It was time to move on and start traveling!

Leave a comment